Archimedes noob here

where both new and existing forum members can say 'hi' to each other!
User avatar
1ST1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 5:48 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Archimedes noob here

Postby 1ST1 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:08 pm

Hello everybody. I am new here, from Germany, next to Frankfurt/M. I begun 1984 with a C64 and switched maninly to Atari 520ST in 1986, then 1040ST, STE, Mega STE plus an Amiga 500 which was mainly bought to copy protected ST disks, but also for games, music and demos. The funny thing is, during that time I have been an apprentice at Olivetti in Frankfurt and there we even didn't knew about the existence of the Archimedes and that it was owned by Olivetti. The Archimedes always was exotic to me, but interesting, impressive and expensive. First I saw an Archimedes was in 1989 when it was introduced by a local computer dealer to our computer club near Aschaffenburg. I was really impressed, so fast, just nice. But in old time, that was the only contact to these machines, they were rare in Germany, and they are still. Since a few years I restarted my home-computer hobby. Luckily I stored all my original computers, my 1st C64, some ST,STE and two Amiga 500 but then until today I completed my collection of Atari ST series until TT, Falcon, STacy and ST-Book plus all original peripherials from ATARI, and also an Amiga 1200.

Two weeks ago I was offered by another collector two pieces of Acorn Archimedes computers, an A410/I and an A3000. I was fascinated. So now they are here and I start to discover them. They have some problems which need to be fixed, mainly the A410 does not read floppy and harddisk, but I hope to manage this. The point is, I have no experience with this hardware, no experience with the Risc-OS (3.11) which runs there, and except of about 50 disks with a lot of hanndwritten, unreadable labels I have no software for these machines, so I am a noob with them. The only help I have is a RiscOS handbook from 1989 and the internet. None of my hobby friends at homecon.net (Hanau near Frankfurt) has a working Archimedes or RiscPC.

So I hope I can learn a lot from here.

Professionally I am still in IT industry, since 5 years now at an european wide system house with it's headquarter in UK.

arch1.jpg
A410


arch2.jpg
A3000, in the backround my Falcon 030 with ct60e turbo card
It's not a bug, it's a feature.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:12 pm

Hi,

welcome to this great Forum... :D

Nice pics... =D>


Greetings from my little Dutch Acorn Attic, Wim...:-)

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby Zarchos » Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:09 pm

Welcome.

Your experience reminds me how hard it was to be an Archie user not based in the U.K.
And still with so few Archies and RPCs sold in Germany there are many great apps or demos coming from your country.
On a very technical side, it is a German coder who demonstrated on the Archie it was possible to get the equivalent of an end of a scanline interrupt.
See all this on my YT channel.

Welcome again !
Xavier.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:45 pm

Welcome 1ST1. :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1900
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby davidb » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:12 pm

Welcome! :D

There are a few long-time users from Germany still around on this forum and on the RISC OS Open Forum.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3691
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby daveejhitchins » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:25 pm

Welcome to the Forum, 1ST1 . . . Enjoy . . .

And good luck with your restoration projects =D>

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

steve3000
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby steve3000 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:47 pm

Welcome!

The RISC OS manual from 1989 will be for RISC OS 2, so not ideal to learn RISC OS 3.11 as you have on your A410.

You might do well to get (or burn) a set of RISC OS 3.19 ROMs for your computers, like mine:

DSC_3743.JPG

User avatar
1ST1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 5:48 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby 1ST1 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:19 am

Hi Steve, that looks interesting, specially as it is in German. But first I have to get the A410 to work, floppy drive, harddisk, as you can see in the hardware section of this forum.
It's not a bug, it's a feature.

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1631
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby DutchAcorn » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:32 am

Thank you for the introduction! Good luck getting your Archies to work and welcome to the forum! :D
Paul

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5618
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Archimedes noob here

Postby CMcDougall » Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:39 pm

welcome ST :)
ImageImageImage


Return to “introduce yourself”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests