Hi, want to build an ATOM

where both new and existing forum members can say 'hi' to each other!
SteveTMQ
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:28 am

Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby SteveTMQ » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:52 am

Let me introduce my self; I'm Steve TMQ you can just call me Steve :-)
Hi
I found this site from http://diy.acornatom.nl/introduction.html and why was I there?

Well in 1988 I had a computer collection including a ZX81, TRS-80 and I was given a bare (no case) Acorn Atom and this was the computer I loved the most. Sadly in 1992 my house was burgled and my Atom was one of the things taken (why I do not know) :-( I have never had the chance to get a replacement.

It would be gate if any one had a Atom they need to give to a loving home but;

Quite by accident on facebook I was giving the above link and I know I have the skill to build this and would love to do so.

I think the starting point is the boards. Roland or any one else it would be grate if you could supply the main board? please get in touch.

Steve

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby Multiwizard » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:59 am

Hi Steve,

welcome to this great Forum... :D

That's indeed Roland his page, he will pop-up soon, this Atom works great,, a few years ago I had the honour to build the first one:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9173


Greetings from my little Dutch Acorn Attic, Wim...:-)
Last edited by Multiwizard on Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby danielj » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:01 am

Hi Steve - welcome :D - that was me that gave you the link. I'm sure Roland will be along shortly to advise as to whether he's got any boards left still!

You'll also notice there are a huge number of other tinkery-projects for other Acorn machines. Feel free to get completely stuck in and ask as many questions as you like.

d.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2739
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby flaxcottage » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:35 am

Welcome Steve. :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5540
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:52 am

welcome Steve :)

hope the dummies that stole your stuff are on a 30yr stretch 8)
ImageImageImage

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby davidb » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:01 am

Welcome! :D

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2780
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby roland » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:01 pm

Hello Steve,

I don't have any boards left but I'm happy to provide you the gerber files that I send to Makepcb.com for producing the boards. As a matter of fact I just uploaded them to http://diy.acornatom.nl/download/acorn-atom-mk2.zip You can use these files to have your board produced at your favourite pcb supplier.

But please pay attention to the following:
  • You still need an Atom keyboard or an interface between a PS/2 keyboard and the Atom keyboard matrix. I still have one of these. Or make your own keyboard like Hoglet did here.
  • You probably want a case too....
  • The GODIL we used is not available any more; there is however a new model but AFAIK nobody tested it yet.
  • The CPLD's are also end-of-life but I also have a few of them.

But we are happy to support you as much as we can :D

Welcome to this forum btw, enjoy your visits here.

Greetings from the south of the Netherlands,
Roland
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6391
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby hoglet » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:29 pm

Hi Steve,

Welcome to stardot!

Another option to consider is Atom FPGA:
viewtopic.php?t=6313

Sorry it's such a long thread.

For the full modern Atom experience (including AtoMMC) there are currently three supports FPGA boards:
- The Papilio One with a custom "Atom" wing (see here)
- The Papilio Duo with Classic Computing shield (see here)
- The Altera DE1 board

All of the sources are in github:
https://github.com/hoglet67/AtomFpga

There is a good offer on the Papilio Duo at the moment: $99 including a free Classic Computing Shield:
http://store.gadgetfactory.net/computin ... uo-bundle/

This board has a build-in programmer, so that's all you need.

The only down-side of Atom FPGA is that it uses a standard PS/2 keyboard, and there is no ideal way of mapping the Atom keyboard to a modern PS/2 keyboard. This is a problem shared with every Acorn Atom software emulator (e.g. Atomulator).

Please don't hesitate to ask if you want any further advice.

Dave

P.S. And a third option is a Raspberry Pi, running the Pi port of Atomulator (called Optima):
viewtopic.php?p=96967#p96967

SteveTMQ
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:28 am

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby SteveTMQ » Sun Apr 23, 2017 2:46 pm

Thank Roland for the replay.

Let me see if I have understood.

"Makepcb.com" can make the PCB from the "acorn-atom-mk2.zip" file.

"GODIL" stands for Good Old DIL, So one or all of the IC's are not available? Which one?
There is a New Model. What's it's number?
Dose the board need changing to take it?

Thanks

Hi Hoglet
Thanks for the idea and links to using a FPGA

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2780
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby roland » Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:38 pm

SteveTMQ wrote:Let me see if I have understood.
"Makepcb.com" can make the PCB from the "acorn-atom-mk2.zip" file.

That is correct.

SteveTMQ wrote:"GODIL" stands for Good Old DIL, So one or all of the IC's are not available? Which one?
There is a New Model. What's it's number?
Does the board need changing to take it?


We use a GODIL to replace the 6847 but with lot's of extensions, like:
  • VGA colour output
  • 80 column text video
  • SID audio
  • Serial RS232 interface
  • Mouse interface
You can read all about it at viewtopic.php?f=44&t=7320

The GODIL we use is GODIL40_XC3S250E, its successor is GODIL40_XC3S500E. The last one (500E) is available by the end of July, the 250E can still be ordered but the delivery time is not known. You can contact Trenz Electronic for more information: https://shop.trenz-electronic.de/de/TE0 ... 40-pin-DIL
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

SteveTMQ
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:28 am

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby SteveTMQ » Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:16 am

I have a 6847 in my chip collection could I use that? (knowing I would not have the extensions)?

In fact I think I have all the large(40 pin) IC's including the 6502.

User avatar
FourthStone
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:29 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby FourthStone » Mon Apr 24, 2017 9:38 am

Welcome to this great forum.

This thread is why I love to come to stardot, lots of interesting projects being discussed and the amazing community of members willing to help when they have time.

Good luck with the Atom build, it sounds like a great project and something I would love to do one day myself... just need that hobby room I've been dreaming of :-k

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6391
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby hoglet » Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:40 am

SteveTMQ wrote:I have a 6847 in my chip collection could I use that? (knowing I would not have the extensions)?

I don't think the new Atom PCB is compatible with the original 6847.

Dave

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2780
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: Hi, want to build an ATOM

Postby roland » Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:06 pm

You are missing the composite video circuit for a start and we route some I/O through the socket. So it is not compatible.
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:


Return to “introduce yourself”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests