LOL DESCRIPTION

for all subjects/topics not covered by the other forum categories
User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2798
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby flaxcottage » Sat May 23, 2015 3:05 pm

Elminster wrote:What is wrong with this picture

http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.vi ... 1878769947

Beeb struck in the wash maybe


That's gonna cut down the price. But it could be worth it if one has a Master coming up for sale - adds £100 to the price. :lol:
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby richardtoohey » Sat May 23, 2015 9:19 pm

These days a Master box is probably worth selling for £45! So do a buy now on this one, buy a cheap (ha!) Master and sell the boxed Master for £250. Instant profit!

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby CMcDougall » Sun May 24, 2015 9:18 pm

^ like your thinking =D>

so, £35 for working M128, £45 box (with free £20 beeb), profit £170.
then sell beeb for £20, so really profit =£190 =D>

I wonder, if sold in bits like folk do with beebs /elk /M128s, then sell each six sides of the original box for mega profit!! :lol:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Elminster » Sun May 24, 2015 9:20 pm

Making boxes and polys would be good money spinner for Abug/Stardot fund!

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby richardtoohey » Sun May 24, 2015 9:37 pm

CMcDougall wrote:^ like your thinking =D>
Don't forget to give me a cut of the profits then! :twisted: :lol:

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby jonb » Mon May 25, 2015 7:40 am

Elminster wrote:Making boxes and polys would be good money spinner for Abug/Stardot fund!


Damned fine idea!

Prime
Posts: 2347
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Prime » Mon Jun 01, 2015 2:58 pm

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111684400610

Humm Macs don't normally have so many claws......

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Elminster » Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:28 pm

Prime wrote:http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111684400610

Humm Macs don't normally have so many claws......

Cheers.

Phill.


Looks very realistic, very good coat for all those years in storage. I hate to think where the replacement batteries need to go.

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:10 pm

Elminster wrote:
Prime wrote:http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111684400610

Humm Macs don't normally have so many claws......

Cheers.

Phill.


Looks very realistic, very good coat for all those years in storage. I hate to think where the replacement batteries need to go.


After so many years in storage I wouldn't event ATTEMPT to change the batteries on that one - it is going to be way too pi***d off! I know mine would be! :lol:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby 1024MAK » Mon Jun 01, 2015 6:22 pm

Aye, but at least you know that the mouse is stored internally :lol:

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3606
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby paulv » Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:59 pm

I really did LOL when I read the description on this one..

Nice to know a silent 6502 second processor "sounds like" it's working...

Paul

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:00 pm

paulv wrote:I really did LOL when I read the description on this one..

Nice to know a silent 6502 second processor "sounds like" it's working...

Paul


Perhaps he/she is unfortunate enough to be hard of hearing or deaf and is picking up the "digital hum" in the hearing aid? :? :wink:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2798
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby flaxcottage » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:05 pm

paulv wrote:I really did LOL when I read the description on this one..

Nice to know a silent 6502 second processor "sounds like" it's working...

Paul


Transformer hum - simples. 8)
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3606
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby paulv » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:18 pm

flaxcottage wrote:Transformer hum - simples. 8)


Mine doesn't hum.... It just sits there nice an quiet doing its thing. DO toroidal PSUs hum that much? I thought that toroidal transformers were generally higher quality than their non-toroidal counterparts and were less susceptible to hum because of their superior design and efficiencies.

That's why toroidal PSU's are used in Hi-Fi equipment AFAIK and hence why I raised it in the first place, mine simply does not hum :D

Paul

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:50 pm

paulv wrote:
flaxcottage wrote:Transformer hum - simples. 8)


Mine doesn't hum.... It just sits there nice an quiet doing its thing. DO toroidal PSUs hum that much? I thought that toroidal transformers were generally higher quality than their non-toroidal counterparts and were less susceptible to hum because of their superior design and efficiencies.

That's why toroidal PSU's are used in Hi-Fi equipment AFAIK and hence why I raised it in the first place, mine simply does not hum :D

Paul


And the "in-rush" current is? There is a black cloud to every silver lining :lol:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3606
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby paulv » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:17 pm

george.h wrote:And the "in-rush" current is? There is a black cloud to every silver lining :lol:


Well, there is that little bump in the road. I've not looked closely at the 6502's PSU but I suspect it'll have in-rush current limiters in place. It clearly doesn't have a switching relay in place like Hi-Fi equipment as you would hear that click as it switched over from throttled to full current supply like you hear when you switch a hi-fi amplifier on.

This is something I'd not considered before and is definitely worth knowing as powering off and immediately on again could have serious repercussions to the second processor as the current limiters won't do their job fully if they're still warm :shock:

Paul

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Aug 03, 2015 7:32 pm

The "click" in good high-power hifi could just as likely be protection to prevent the output stages blowing at switch on, especially if the speakers aren't connected!

You could always count on most Amstrad "hifis" (now there is a contradiction in terms) blowing the output amp IC by just switching them on with no speakers plugged in - even at their "wapping" 20 watts PMPO (not even REAL watts) and the volume turned all the way down. :twisted: :lol:

The main thing with equipment like a second processor PSU using a toroidal is that the mains fuse will probably be a time-lag/anti-surge/slo-blow type. The "in-rush" being the big gulp of current the transformer takes from the mains at switch on. A common mistake is replacing the fuse with a higher (standard type) rating because it keeps blowing at switch on.

You get the same effect if using toroidal 12V halogen lighting transformers. You can often find you need to swap the MCB on the lighting circuit (normally type B) for a type C of the same rating to prevent "nuisance" tripping. :wink:

EDIT: That reminds me! See new topic on current curve tracing.... :wink:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

User avatar
Wookie
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:06 am
Location: Lost in a fog of PSU capacitor smoke

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Wookie » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:58 pm

george.h wrote:The "in-rush" being the big gulp of current the transformer takes from the mains at switch on.

You should try arcing up a welder some time, I was using my mate's 250A Mig welder that pulls around 45A from the mains when you start welding, that causes the mains voltage to drop a fair bit for a second or so :lol:
cheers Wookie
Overclocked StrongARM RiscPC + Viewfinder
Overclocked Arm3 8MB A310 + vidc extender
BBC Master with Matchbox CoPro
BBC B+ 64K
My original Electron from 1985 with Slogger MasterRam/Turbo,AP1,AP2 rom, AP3+4 & New AP6

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:19 pm

Wookie wrote:
george.h wrote:The "in-rush" being the big gulp of current the transformer takes from the mains at switch on.

You should try arcing up a welder some time, I was using my mate's 250A Mig welder that pulls around 45A from the mains when you start welding, that causes the mains voltage to drop a fair bit for a second or so :lol:


REAL fun (literally!) is watching a so called "professional" welder welding up some square section steel tube into a bench frame using a portable (standard 13A three pin) MIG welder. It was plugged into one of those plastic "drum" type 13A extensions which was far from fully unwound.

It did look pretty as the it went up in flames! :twisted:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6795
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby 1024MAK » Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:47 am

Pah! Only 45A at 230 / 240V mains :-k

I offer a picture of some small transformers and 50V DC power supplies:
Large transformers.JPG

And their rating plates:
50V@100A plate.JPG
That's 50V DC out mind...
35KVA plate.JPG
If you don't know, transformers are rated in VA instead of Watts. So for a non-inductive load, that 35KVA rating is approximately 35KW.

And finally, try blowing this small fuse:
Fuse.JPG
Fuse close up.JPG
Fuse - really close -up.JPG
Yes, it does say 11/12KV at 80A.

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3402
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby leenew » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:32 am

:shock:
Wow! The picture of that fuse brought back memories of the TV show "Land of the giants" :D
Lee.

Prime
Posts: 2347
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Prime » Mon Aug 24, 2015 1:25 pm

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/131584880320

Humm "It is in good condition and will be supplied protected in an antistatic bag." Well that won't help one bit as the picture of the SID in the auction is plugged into a piece of *NON CONDUCTING* polystyrene!

Hint antistatic material is conducting so that all pins are at the same potential, and no current flows.

And that seller should know better.

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
george.h
Posts: 1027
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Chelmsford Essex

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby george.h » Mon Aug 24, 2015 2:08 pm

Prime wrote:Humm "It is in good condition and will be supplied protected in an antistatic bag." Well that won't help one bit as the picture of the SID in the auction is plugged into a piece of *NON CONDUCTING* polystyrene!


But it will help keep all that nasty static INSIDE so the buyer won't get a shock from it! :lol:

Where's the Bacofoil when you need it.... :wink:
Pic Caption: "One day son, this will all be yours..."

poink
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:27 am

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby poink » Tue Aug 25, 2015 3:21 am

Prime wrote:And that seller should know better.

Especially as the 6851 (as an original NMOS part) is notably prone to ESD, a fact that's specifically driven the price of a replacement SID through the roof.

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3606
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby paulv » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:29 am

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161795126692

I know this A420/1 says it has a 25Hz ARM3 in it but the photos clearly show it's an original 8MHz ARM2 processor... :roll:

Seems to be going for quite a tidy sum too....

Paul

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2808
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby roland » Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:15 pm

A working Acorn Atom but entering a command is a bit difficult at http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acorn-Atom-Comp ... 1a054ebd1f

I wonder how much it will do ...
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

Prime
Posts: 2347
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby Prime » Sun Aug 30, 2015 10:04 pm

roland wrote:A working Acorn Atom but entering a command is a bit difficult at http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acorn-Atom-Comp ... 1a054ebd1f

I wonder how much it will do ...

I'm actually tempted to bid on that, case is in decent condition, certainly better than one of my cases which has had all manner of holes drilled in it :(

Would fit an alternate keyboard (e.g. Beeb) to the chip side of the board so I didn't have to keep turning the damn thing over to type commands!

I have an Issue 4 board I'm planning on doing this with tho.

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
roland
Posts: 2808
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby roland » Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:14 pm

Amazing ... it went to £87.00 :shock:
256K + 6502 Inside
MAN WOMAN :shock:

poink
Posts: 963
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:27 am

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby poink » Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:03 am

roland wrote:Amazing ... it went to £87.00 :shock:

I remember my dealer having one in the window for £20. #-o

JonTr7
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: LOL DESCRIPTION

Postby JonTr7 » Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:49 pm

poink wrote:
roland wrote:Amazing ... it went to £87.00 :shock:

I remember my dealer having one in the window for £20. #-o



Did you buy it.

John


Return to “off-topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests